Aug 26, 2008

Abkhazia: Recognised by Russia


Active Image

Russian President Dmitry Medvedev announced Tuesday 26 August 2008 that he signed a decree under which Russia formally recognises South Ossetia and Abkhazia as independent states. The announcement came after the Russian parliament on Monday 25 August 2008 called upon President Dmitry Medvedev to recognize the independence of South Ossetia and Georgia.