Apr 20, 2015

Gilgit-Baltistan: Second Elections, since Provincial Status Granted to be Held in June

Pakistani Prime Minister Mr Nawaz Sharif has sanctioned the holding of a second provincial election in Gilgit-Baltistan, to determine the composition of one of the five provincial assemblies in Pakistan. The GB Legislative Assembly election will take place on 8 June.  

Below is an article published by Pakistan Daily Times

Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif has approved a summary of the Ministry of Kashmir Affairs and Gilgit-Baltistan for holding of elections to the GB Legislative Assembly on June 8. 

The summary for polling on June 8 was sent by Gilgit-Baltistan Federal Minister and Governor Birjees Tahir. These will be the second elections after the area had been given provincial status. First elections for the provincial legislative assembly were held in November 2009. Caretaker government in GB was set up on December 12, 2014, to arrange the holding of elections.

Sources told that the Election Commission has issued the notification in this connection and election schedule would be announced by the GB chief election commissioner during the next 48 hours.

For the Legislative Assembly’s 24 seats in seven districts, PML-N, PPP, PTI, APML, JUI (F), JI, MQM as well as other smaller parties are expected to field their candidates.