Oct 01, 2013

Somaliland: President Attends Graduation Ceremony Held At Hargeisa University

President Ahmed Mohamed Mahmoud (Silanyo) attended the graduation ceremony of 744 student’s graduation in diverse faculties.

Below is an article by: Somalilandpress

President Ahmed Mohamed Mahmoud (Silanyo) today attended a graduation ceremony held for more than 744 students the 10th batch to have graduated from the various faculties which make up University of Hargeisa.

President Silanyo handed out awards to top students for their diligence, speaking during the Graduation ceremony the head of state told graduates that they are expected to become leaders in their communities and public services and capable of becoming fully competitive in all sectors and that they are the future of this country hence the need for them to be ingenious when it comes to employment, he also urged local enterprises to invest in local talents.

The Chancellor if Hargeisa University Dr. Abdi H. Gass  in his speech said Our students are everyday people, many with jobs, families, and other outside responsibilities, who are dedicated to improving themselves academically, socially, culturally and professionally.

Among those flanking the President at the graduation ceremony were the Minsters of Education Hon Zamzam Abdi Adan, Minister of National Planning Dr. Sacad Ali Shire, Minister of Presidency Hon Hirsi Ali Haji Hassan, Minister of Interior Hon Ali Mohamed Waran Cade and the Minister of Health Hon Saleban Esse Ahmed ( Xaglatosiye)

The graduates who are the 10th batch to graduate from the institution since its inception back in 2001.

The various faculties of the University of Hargeisa are listed below:

1. Faculty of Business Administration.

2. Faculty of Economics.

3. Faculty of ICT and Distance Leaning.

4. Faculty of Islamic Studies and Arabic Language.

5. Faculty of Law.

6. Faculty of Medicine.

7. Faculty of Education.

8. Faculty of Sciences and Technology.

9. Legal Aid Clinic (Center).

10. Center for Research and Development.

11. ICT Services Department

12. Institute of Peace and Conflict Studies.

13. Observatory Violence Center.