Jul 31, 2013

Balochistan: Presidential Elections Voting Day, BNP-M Leader Excluded


Following the Supreme's Court decision to move the elections forward on the ruling party's request, the Pakistani presidential elections have been hold with an incomplete Electoral College.

Below is an article published by APP:

Pakistan Muslim League-N candidate Mamnoon Hussain has clinched 55 and Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf candidate Wajihuddin could get only one vote out of total 56 polled for Presidential Election from Balochistan Assembly, here on Tuesday [30 July 2013].

Talking to APP at the assembly premises, Provincial Election Commissioner Syed Sultan Bayazeed said that total 56 MPAs cast their votes out of total 65 members. Mamnoon Hussain the PML-N candidate got 55 votes out of 56 total cast their votes while PTI’s candidate Wajihuddin could get only one.

He said that three MPAs including two of Balochistan National Party-Mengal among them Sardar Akhtar Mengal and Mir Hamal Kalamati and one MPA of BNP-Awami, Mir Zafrullah Zehri were also notified as voters but they had not taken their oath in the assembly before the polling.

Chief Justice Balochistan High Court Qazi Faez Isa was Presiding Officer while Provincial Election Commissioner Syed Sultan Bayazeed and other officials assisted him.

Speaker Mir Jan Muhammad Jamali was the first who cast his vote at the polling both.

Prominent lawmakers who have cast their votes among them Chief Minister Balochistan Dr. Abdul Malik Baloch, Senior Provincial Minister and Pakistan Muslim League-N Parliamentary leader Sardar Sanaullah Zehri, Provincial Minister and Pashtoonkhawa Milli Awami Party Parliamentary Leader Abdul Rahim Ziaratwal, Provincial Minister and National Party leader Nawab Muhammad Khan Shahwani, Opposition leader and Jamiat Ulema Islam-Fazl Parliamentary leader Maulana Abdul Wasey, and PML-Q Parliamentary leader Sheikh Jaffar Khan Mandokhel.

Awami National Party MPA Eng. Zamarak Piralizai boycotted the Presidential Election.

The three seats of the Balochistan Assembly including Jhal Magsi, Nasirabad and Lasbela constituencies are still vacant as by-polls are yet to be conducted there.