Apr 17, 2012

Crimean Tatars: Majlis Chairman Receives Prestigious Award

Chariman of the Majlis of the Crimean Tatar People Mustafa Cemil was awarded the Galip Erdem prize in acknowledgement of his relentless work for peace and justice.

Below is an article published by the Crimean News Agency:

The Board of the Central office of Turkic Culture Association Türk Ocağı (The Turkish Hearth), which marks the 100th anniversary of its foundation, has awarded the Chairman of the Majlis of the Crimean Tatar people, MP Mustafa Cemil the 2011Galip Erdem ‘Honour and Dignity’ Prize.

As reported, the awarding ceremony took place on April 14 as part of the 42nd Grand Congress of the Turkic Culture Association. 

The Galip Erdem Prize was established in 1986 and was initially awarded in four nominations. In 1994 the number of nominations has been increased to 5, and in 2010 – to 7. 

Among the 2011 Honour and Dignity Prize awardees is also the Turkic scholar from Iran, Prof. Dr. Cevat Heyet.

The winners in other categories are: a poet Abdürrahim KARAKOÇ (the Ayvaz Gökdemir Prize); Prof. Dr. Orhan TÜRKDOĞAN (the Hamdullah Suphi TANRIÖVER Prize for Culture); lecturer at Mimar Sinan Fine Arts University (Istanbul, Turkey), Prof. Dr. Ahmet TAŞAĞIL (the Osman Turan Award for Turkological Research); TRT Avaz TV Channel (the Dr. Hasan Ferit CANSEVER Award in the field of art); TURKSOY (Nihal ATSIZ Award ‘For service to the Turkic world’); associate professor at Gaziosmanpasha University (Tokat, Turkey), Dr. Erkan GÖKSU (the Ziya Gökalp Science and Recognition Award).