May 11, 2010

Chittagong Hill Tracts: Frustrations rise as the Bangladeshi Government don't show up at scheduled L

Sample ImageNon- cooperation from the Government seriously Hinder attempts at resolving Land Issues in the Chittagong Hill Tracts, as the Commission is the the only Legal Body that Can Resolve Long Standing Issues.


Below is an article published by

Bandarban, May 10 ( -- The chairman of CHT Land Dispute Resolution Commission has blamed Parbatya Chattagram Jana Sanghati Samity chief Santu Larma for non-cooperation. 

"He (Larma) attended only one meeting of the commission out of nine held... Instead of attending meetings, he is giving statements against the commission," Khademul Islam told a views exchange meeting at Bandarban deputy commissioner's office on Monday. 

He said Larma was stating that the commission was not formed in line with the 1997 CHT peace accord. He urged the Larma to help establish peace and stability in the hills region. 

A rally was also arranged on Monday to make people aware of commission activities. 

Islam said the rally was arranged to inform people of the work procedure and headway of the commission and to seek their cooperation. 

He said the commission is the only legal entity to resolve any land dispute in Chittagong Hill Tracts. 

The commission was formed in line with the accord signed between the government and Sanghati Samity to end the decades-long insurgency in the region. 

Jyotirindra Bodhipriya Larma, nicknamed Santu Larma, signed the accord as chief of the samity. 

"Thirteen years have elapsed since the accord was signed, but land dispute is still unresolved. It should have been resolved much earlier," the commission chief commented. 

Replying to a query from journalists, he said the commission would work only to resolve land dispute. "The commission has no jurisdiction over land survey. It falls under the government's jurisdiction." 

The commission will function as usual even if land survey begins in the area, he said. 

A retired Supreme Court judge, Islam expressed his conviction that he would carry on his duty neutrally "to ensure justice for all." 

He said there was no scope of appeal in court against any land dispute resolution decision of the commission. 

The commission chief said they would scrap any lease of land, which goes against the spirit of CHT Peace Accord. 

The commission, headquartered at Khagrachharhi, comprises nine members, including commission chairman, three hill district council (Bandarban, Rangamati and Khagrachharhi) chairmen, three circle (Bomang, Chakma, Mong) chiefs, chairman of regional council or his representative and Chittagong divisional commissioner or his representative. 

On the commission meeting, Islam said letters are sent to all commission members when a meeting is convened.