Assembly & Presidency

UNPO's XII General Assembly


General Assembly

The General Assembly, composed of delegations of all its members, is the highest organ of the UNPO. As required by the UNPO Covenant, the General Assembly holds its regular session at least once every eighteen months. In July 2015, UNPO held its 12th General Assembly, in Brussels.

UNPO Members use the General Assembly to share their experiences, successes and problems. It is also a venue for considering specific topics of concern and for the adoption of member-specific resolutions. The General Assembly also discusses the achievements and shortcomings in the organization's performance since the previous assembly, and lay down strategies that will guide the Secretariat in performing its functions until the following General Assembly.

In addition, the General Assembly elects the Presidency Members and the organization's President and Vice-President. It also elects the General Secretary and the Treasurer for a mandate of three years.

Click here to read the highlights of our last General Assembly. You can also check the latest General Secretary Report submitted for that occasion.


UNPO's Presidency is composed of 9 Members, in addition to a President and a Vice-President. The Presidency has the duty to supervise the implementation of the overall policy of the Organization during its term as mandated by the Assembly. The Presidency will represent the General Assembly and will closely collaborate with the General Secretary in carrying out the overall activity of the Organization.

The current President of UNPO is Mr Nasser Boladai (West Balochistan).
Vice-President is Mr Abdirahman Mahdi (Ogaden).

The other members of the Presidency are the representatives of the following members:

Afrikaner, Crimean Tatars, East Turkestan, Iranian Kurdistan, Khmer Krom, Oromo, Taiwan, Tibet and West Papua.

Upcoming Activities

  • JUN
    Scottish Parliament Conference: Sharing Perspectives on the Rights of the Unrepresented On the Eve of UNPO's XIII General Assembly

Recent Activities

  • JUN
    Football for Peace Tournament - UNPO World Cup 2017
  • JUN
    UNPO Announces Official Launch of Report “Crossroads: The Future of Iraq’s Minorities after ISIS”
  • JUN
    UNPO Announces European Parliament Conference: “Post-ISIS Ninewa: The European Response”